The Top 100 Most Wanted Comics List! (80-71)

Remember, if you enjoy articles about Comic Books and Cosplay then like my blog here and join my FB Group at We Love Comics. And go head and follow us on Twitter @WeLoveComicz

So please, like, comment, and subscribe!

So please, like, comment, and subscribe!

Now, this is the THIRD PART (of TEN) of the Top 100 Most Wanted Comic Books by collectors of all ages and from all eras. I could have easily filled the Top 100 with Golden Age and/or Silver Age books, but where would the fun be in that? So if you’re new to the hobby, a veteran like me, or an old timer who remembers the Superman radio show, I hope there’s a few comics on here that would make your list.

So like the list, hate it… print it out and use it as a dart board, but just remember, these are my choices. If you feel your list would be better, go for it. Write a list. I’d love to read it. And chances are, I’ll like it, cause I like reading about comics… as I hope you do too.

So with all that said, here’s the next ten (Numbers 80 to 71.) ENJOY!

80 – Marvel Spotlight #5 (August, 1972) Marvel Comics

Marvel_Spotlight_Vol_1_5

The first appearance of Ghost Rider (Johnny Blaze) set the comics world ablaze (Ahem) leading to the Spirit of Vengeance getting his own title soon after. A very popular character, Ghost Rider has had two mediocre movies with the insane Nicholas Cage and is seriously due for a new movie, MCU style. Little known facts: The Ghost Rider can increase size in battle, but oddly not in the bedroom. Also, his infamous penance stare cannot affect five people — Venom, Deadpool, the Punisher, Zodiac, and the mother of my son.

79 – Batman #232 (June, 1971) DC Comics

Batman 232.jpg

Ra’s Al Ghul, one of Batman’s greatest foes debuts in this issue. Leader of the League of Assassins, Ghul has appeared in not only comics, but in the Batman Begins movie (Played by Liam Neeson) as well as several seasons of Arrow.

Little known fact, but Ra’s Al Ghul is the only villain I know to have attended Woodstock. In fact, he met the love of his life there, Melisande. Crazy, but true.

78 – Hero For Hire #1 (June, 1972) Marvel Comics

luke-cage-hero-for-hire-1-2-large.jpg

The debut of Luke Cage was always a popular pick up for collectors of Bronze Age comics, but within the last few years, thanks to the Netflix show, Luke Cage’s first appearance has passed that 500 dollar mark. Originally inspired after the Black Exploitation films of the 70’s, which inspired Quentin Tarantino, Cage has grown into a Hero that represents everyone. Plus, he’s a hero to us guys for shagging Jessica Jones! Yeah, Baby!

h57jwyvbw6ex.gif

77 – Batman Adventures #12 (September, 1993) DC Comics

Batman Adventures 12.jpg

The most popular DC Character created in the last 25 years is Harley Quinn. This baby is a grail for many modern collectors and paying over 500 bucks for a Near Mint copy is a very common thing. How popular is Harley? She’s been portrayed in the Suicide Squad by Margot Robbie, has like 5 million facebook groups devoted to her, appears in about 100 DC titles a month, and I even got her tattooed on my arm. Seriously.

2011-10-28 15.18.54_Montebello_California_US 990fa29a068baf26594826fd31b3b91a.gif

76 – Amazing Spider-Man #300 (May, 1988) Marvel Comics

Amazing_Spider-Man_Vol_1_300

I have no idea why older collectors feel this book is overrated. It seriously deserves its spot on this list. It’s Spidey’s 300th issue. It’s drawn by Todd McFarlane. And in case you just got into comic books like yesterday, it’s also the debut issue of Venom! You know… Eddie Brock… Spidey’s greatest villain next to the Green Goblin? This book is a serious grail for modern collectors who don’t mind plopping down 300 bucks for a high grade copy.

And if the Venom movie is even slightly good, expect the prices to soar even higher. Okay. It’s done solely by Sony so…. it’s probably going to suck. Like Spider-man 3 suck. Maybe even worse. Ugh, Sony.

28a6ff2311f2ba264fdf05e5d329dff7--man-images-todd-mcfarlane.jpg image-e1378127524420.jpg

75 – New Mutants #98 (February, 1991) Marvel Comics

New Mutants 98.jpg

You know how I said that Harley Quinn was the most popular character that DC has created in the last 25 years? Well in the last 30 years, Deadpool is the most popular character that Marvel has created…. by a longshot (Though Venom comes close.) In fact, Deadpool is so popular, that when FOX messed up Deadpool in Wolverine 2, Ryan Reynolds and friends purposely leaked some Deadpool test footage in order to rile up fans and demand that FOX make Deadpool the way he was meant to be and not some zombie like, eye beam shooting, mouth sewn copy cat.

Thank you, Ryan.

74 – House of Secrets #92 (July, 1971) DC Comics

House_of_Secrets_v.1_92

I’m going to be honest here. This book is near the top of my own personal holy grail list. The debut of the Swamp Thing was an instant hit when it first came out, but over the years, this book has rightfully taken it’s place among the greatest KEY issue in DC comic book history. Do you think Alan Moore had anything to do with that?

73 – Superman’s Pal Jimmy Olsen #134 (December, 1970) DC Comics

Jimmy Olsen 134.jpg

I remember way back when, when I was just a comic book newbie and I asked my local comic shop owner if he could show me the book in which Darkseid made his debut in. I had some extra cash and I loved him in the Superfriends show so of course, I had to own his first comic book appearance. So the guy turned around and grabbed a comic from his shelf then placed it on the counter. I took one look at it and I was like, “What the fuck, dude?!” I seriously thought he was trying to rip me off. After all, why would DC choose such a lame comic like Superman’s Pal Jimmy Olsen to unveiled one of their greatest villains of all time? I wasn’t having it, so I passed. A few months later, I found out the guy wasn’t full of shit after all, but when I went back to the store, the comic was gone. Damn! Now I’m not sure if I cursed myself or what, but I’ve never been able to find another copy as good as the one I passed up ever since. Sigh. Comic nerd troubles. Am I right?

a78v50.gif

72 – Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1 (May, 1984) Mirage Studios

TMNT 1

The most popular independent comic book of all time has to be Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #1, the first appearance of the Turtles and their rat master, Splinter. This book, which goes for around 5,000 dollars is a grail for many comics collectors. The book had an original print run of 3,275 copies and within months, the comic book community’s demand had caused the book to jump up to 50 times their cover price.

Little known facts: The Turtles loves pizza, but are allergic to gluten.

71 – Green Lantern #76 (April, 1970) DC Comics

GL 76.jpg

Way back when, DC Comics was a company that portrayed the world as basically black and white. There were bad guys doing bad things, but their heroes always defeated the bad guys, giving the world a happily ever after ending each and every time. Then came Neal Adams and his incredible run on Green Lantern. With this issue, the title was renamed Green Lantern/Green Arrow and Adams used the title to show DC Comic readers what the world really looked like. Dealing with racism, drug addiction, and other social commentaries, Neal Adams Green Lantern run opened up many eyes and changed comics for the better.

So stay tuned for seven more parts of my Top 100 list which include tons of Golden and silver age books! And as always, I hope you love comics as much as WE DO!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

